Needs Assessment 2019: AHEC Digital Library (ADL)

The NC AHEC Digital Library (ADL) is the portal to AHEC library services. The ADL includes a collection of digital library services and resources compiled by AHEC librarians in order to support health care practice and clinical education in North Carolina. The ADL supports the NC AHEC Program and its libraries, as well as ADL hospital consortium members located throughout North Carolina.

The ADL also welcomes guest usersNC health professionals and students, who may use any of the resources that are not restricted by license to members. As a guest or member user, Please feel free to contact ADL-Questions@listserv.unc.edu to learn more about membership or request assistance from a librarian.

1. Some journal the library no longer subscribes to.
2. did not know of benefit
3. I am still working learning how to find the information I need
4. Depends on where I am and what information I am searching for.
5. UNABLE TO OBTAIN FULL TEXT
6. Sometimes I have trouble searching
7. I have never used it
8. It doesn't seem to search through a large journal database.  I am able to find more articles on google scholar, and I wish it was the opposite.
9. because i've always been able to get what i need
10. I can always find the article I need.
11. I don't have an access for full article from some of the journals.
12. Sometimes I need a more simplified, but still academically sound, document so I'll reference a quick source like webmd in addition to the sources I find using clinical key
13. I cannot access all the articles needed and will need to contact the librarian to obtain access or send me an article
14. The Librarians are always available to assist and great resource of journals.
15. Sometimes it is hard to navigate through the digital library to actually get full text articles
16. I never use them
17. occasionally I can't find what I am looking for
18. I can find articles and abstracts but the journal  may not be available through the library site, for example most of the articles r/t HPB surgeries come from Taiwan and I would have to wait to see if we were able to get it for free
19. I always get a prompt response and the research/articles I have requested
20. the availability of journal articles
21. unanswered email
22. Laura Leach is amazing. She is knowledgeable and gives me exactly what need when I ask for citations.
23. Always respond within 24 hours
24. Not enough access to different atricles
25. I find it much more difficult to navigate for online searches than my university libraries so I tend to use them (even though I am no longer a student, if I still have access I will use theirs first)
26. Wish I had time to go to the library.
27. sometimes I utilize generic searches and then go to AHEC to get full journal articles.
28. I am using the library associated with my RN-BSN program while I'm enrolled. After that I anticipate using the AHEC digital library.
29. I am a professor at another university and have greater access to resources through the university.  I use it to demonstrate to other nurses how to use it that only have ADL.
30. N/A
31. I had trouble locating articles via the available search tools--- but this could have been operator error
32. I use the AHEC Digital Library frequently and it meets my needs.
33. Because it does not have the resources my Alma mater library has
34. hard to find articles
35. Because Laura Leach finds EVERYTHING I need for lit reviews
36. Many times it does not give the full context
37. I do not completely know how to search for a research article and I get frustrated.
38. Because I can always find what I need or ask for help and get it
39. access to certain journals in my specialty (neonatal) are limited
40. sometimes i need to modify my search to find related articles
41. Sometimes there are journals that I can't access through AHEC therefore I would use my school's library.
42. NICU informaiton is often difficult to find at times.
43. They helped a lot when I was working on my clinical ladder
44. It is free, convenient and reliable.
45. I have not needed the library for research purposes yet.
46. It is still cumbersome to find and retrieve articles digitally
47. Often find articles that are not available for easy downloading the full article
48. I have difficulty logging in most of the time, so I haven't been using it.
49. Sometimes there are journals that are not able to be accessed even with the UNC Digital library part
50. What score?
51. I'd say even less than "sometimes." Unfortunately, many journal articles I need are not available. It is frustrating because I do a lot of literature searches/reviews and reference the peer-reviewed medical literature for grant applications and manuscripts I co-write with faculty in the Department of Emergency Medicine Research. We requested faculty-level library access for me, but that access was denied, so when I cannot access articles, I have to ask the faculty member to do so, which is not good use of their time. One faculty member just forwarded the list to an AHEC librarian and they emailed her back all the full-text articles, which was helpful, but it would be more efficient if I could do myself.
52. It is very difficult to find oncology related articles
53. The AHEC digital library is extremely limited compared to what a university is able to provide and I am able to access through my UNCC faculty appointment.
54. Many journals I often need access to are not carried. Examples include Nature Reviews Clinical Oncology, Clinical Cancer Research, J of Clinical Oncology (newest articles not available, this is most important one), Targeted Oncology.
55. When I have ever needed assistance the librarian there is so so helpful and patient!
56. Maybe 90% of Journal articles are available
57. Increased access as UNC preceptor however often asked by other colleagues to provide papers due to their limited access at baseline
58. I can find the information I need most of the time.
59. Need more access to journals
60. I find it easier to directly go to the UNC Health Sciences Library site and log-in with my AHEC credentials when I need to access journal articles.  UNC also has a wider selection of journals.
61. There is not always access to full articles
62. They've always managed to find what I've needed.
63. Sometimes I can't find the journal articles referenced in the Medline searches
64. Usually I cannot access the articles I find.  Even after setting up another digital library it has asked me to do so I can access articles
65. medical librarians are great. Only detractor is sometimes rehab journals are not there.
66. Valuable resource that we use regularly.
67. There are many journals I cannot access on my own, but literature reviews with the assistance of one of the librarians always meets my needs.
68. there are some key journals in urology for which there is not a digital library subscription
69. Many journals I use aren't available through the AHEC library!
70. Almost always meets my needs.
71. Some journals are not available at the digital library
72. Happy with librarians who help!
73. does not have some key journals- Current hepatitis reports, seminars liver disease, clinics in liver disease
74. I often cannot access the articles that I need and even when I can I spend a lot of time connecting to the site and entering additional passwords to get the full article.
75. There are many journal articles I am not able to find on AHEC.
76. Can not always access articles I need through AH membership
77. Occasionally the ADL doesn't have full access to a source or journal that I want.  but 95 % of the time it has what I need, especially between the Charlotte offerings and the UNC offereings.  It is a great resource
78. other sources are more helpful like up to date
79. They are wonderful- perfect score
80. Because it is of unparalled value        Because it is of unparalleled value and provides what I need for patient care and teaching as well as research, 96% of the time!
81. Excellent and professional service by AHEC Library staff. I would say, 90% of journals I look for are available and the inter library load delivery is very fast.
82. I do not always have access to materials I need.
83. Some articles are not available immediately
84. Every now and then there is a snafu with a particular journal article.  But otherwise, everything is really VERY good.
85. Journals not available and ILL charges a fee. I have more access through another university affiliation
86. Often there are not enough study rooms for our group to study
87. if I am unable to find the material I need, the librarians are glad to assist me
88. I have been able to locate most of what I need in CINAHL, but there has been a time or two that I couldn't get the full-text.
89. Digital library rarely returns full text articles and up-to-date articles. Need more peer reviewed article access. Does not support the needs of student or faculty
90. it is not always user friendly
91. I can either find the material I am looking for myself or I can find it with the assistance of the librarians
92. Most of the journals I need to reference are available in the ADL
93. best place to study as long as you can find a room. Library staff are extremely helpful and always nice!
94. They usually have everything I need
95. Occasionally there are articles that I would like and the journals are not subscribed to.  However, once I contact the librarians they have been wonderful at producing them.
96. I don't find it as user friendly as the one I used at Grand Canyon University.  I usually end up having the librarian do the search for me.
97. It walks you through how to do things, provides you with resources and places to find things if you are unsure of what to do and allows you to be successful in doing research for a class.
98. The journals that I am interested in are not available.  My specialty areas are obstetrics and nurse education.
99. It seems that every time I do a search of the literature there are a number of articles or resources that I cannot get through the AHEC digital library.  Additionally, I find it very frustrating that the ILL costs $10 for an article that I'm uncertain about.  I have never had this experience with a library before, and I wish there were a way to have access to a well-resourced library.